New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermeneter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > Cheap Digital Temperature Control




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-23-2009, 09:47 PM   #1
csafley
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 4
Default Cheap Digital Temperature Control

I came accross this Digital Thermostat with built in electrical outlet that would be perfect for temperature control and much cheaper then others I have seen. I am planning on exteneding the wire on the thermostat so that I can run it into my fermentation freezer.

Let me know what you think.



Amazon.com: WIN100 Heating & Cooling Programmable Outlet Thermostat: Home Improvement



__________________

Last edited by csafley; 04-23-2009 at 10:08 PM.
csafley is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-23-2009, 09:57 PM   #2
dragon99
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: College Station, TX
Posts: 133
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

Nice find. Looks like it should work fine. I will definitely keep this one in mind next time I need a thermostat.



__________________

Homer: “I’m feelin’ low, Apu. You got any of that beer that has candy floating in it, you know, Skittlebrau?”
Apu: “Such a product does not exist, sir! You must have dreamed it.”
Homer: “Oh. Well then just gimme a six-pack and a couple of bags of Skittles.”

dragon99 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-23-2009, 10:16 PM   #3
Catt22
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4,998
Liked 55 Times on 53 Posts
Likes Given: 51

Default

That unit senses the ambient air temp with that little antenna like thing you see sticking up on the top left. You might be able to use it if you mount it inside the freezer, but then you still need to get power to and from it. I don't think there's any way to lengthen the sensor probe which would be the ideal solution. It might not be safe to mount this unit inside the freezer anyway due to the often wet or very damp conditions. All said and done, it would probably be better to go with the standard Johnson analog controller as most do. I prefer the digital models, but they cost a little more. I've also been looking for a cheap way to make a controller. I need a lot of them!

__________________
Catt22 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-23-2009, 10:21 PM   #4
giligson
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vancouver Area - Canada
Posts: 755
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

http://www.thermostatshop.com/manuals/win100.pdf

I wish I could find a Canadian distributor. I would like to use it to run a carboy heater in the winter time.
__________________

We who are about to Brew, salute you!

giligson is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-24-2009, 01:48 AM   #5
drost
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ankeny, IA
Posts: 171
Default

I've been using one of those controllers for quite a while now in my refrigerator for fermentation control. Works great!
http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f11/temperature-controller-49559/

__________________
"It isn't a matter of being a beer snob. Some people think a steak from Ponderosa is a great dinner out (Budweiser). Others would rather have a filet at one of the better steakhouses (craft beer). " --Pronger750
drost is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-27-2009, 09:22 PM   #6
csafley
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 4
Default Digital Temp. Control

I simply cut the the wire that leads to the probe and inserted an additional length of wire so that I can run the probe into my fermentation freezer while still allowing the unit to remain outside and away from the moisture. It works great!!

__________________
csafley is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-28-2009, 05:01 PM   #7
chris1979
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: byron ga
Posts: 129
Default

this is what i use on my chest freezer pretty cheap and works well no wiring just plug it in. not digital but works well.
Portable Thermostat | Heaters | Northern Tool + Equipment

__________________

Last edited by chris1979; 04-29-2009 at 01:55 PM.
chris1979 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-28-2009, 05:20 PM   #8
Catt22
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4,998
Liked 55 Times on 53 Posts
Likes Given: 51

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by csafley View Post
I simply cut the the wire that leads to the probe and inserted an additional length of wire so that I can run the probe into my fermentation freezer while still allowing the unit to remain outside and away from the moisture. It works great!!
Interesting! I was told you couldn't easily do this as the probe is actually a short thermocouple device and it's not as simple as just lengthening the wire. I think there are actually two wires involved and they form a junction at the probe. The wire must be of a special type. Ordinary chassis wire won't cut it. Then the unit must be calibrated to adjust for the added resistance. OTOH, this may all be wrong from what you are telling us. This thermostat would be a great low cost alternative to the typical ones we buy. Have you cross checked the freezer temps to see how well it's working?
__________________
Catt22 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-28-2009, 09:02 PM   #9
csafley
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 4
Default

It is currently hooked up to my chest freezer and is showing the same temperature as the dial thermometer inside. I didn't use any special wire and didn't have to calibrate anything and it works just fine.

__________________
csafley is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-28-2009, 10:04 PM   #10
pen25
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: tulsa, ok
Posts: 976
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 6

Default

the resistance involved is minimal in short runs. so if you take your thermister take an ohm reading of it without wire and then add a length of wire yourll see a minimal difference which shouldnt cause any temp change. now if this was a huge long run then yes it might be an issue.



__________________

from or living in oklahoma? come join us in the oklahoma group

pen25 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cheap Digital Scale SchizoFilly Equipment/Sanitation 10 05-10-2012 06:55 AM
Cheap Digital Temperature Controller csafley Equipment/Sanitation 3 05-18-2011 01:43 PM
Digital Temp Control Questions max-the-knife DIY Projects 1 09-19-2009 03:50 AM
Does anyone use the cheap, red digital thermometer from Walmart? ark1ebs All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing 23 02-27-2009 04:23 AM
Digital Temp Control fa1321tx Equipment/Sanitation 1 04-18-2006 11:05 AM