Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > Capacitor connected to a motor??
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-31-2008, 02:37 PM   #1
wizardofza
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
wizardofza's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 411
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default Capacitor connected to a motor??

I don't know much about circuitry but I'm interested in hooking up my barely crusher to a motor instead of using my drill and I came across this : http://www.brewheads.com/mill.php.

I'm confused as to exactly what the purpose of the capacitor is?

I haven't done much circuitry building, but is it there to ease the strain on the motor when the switch is hit to go from one direction to the other? I know basically what a capacitor is, but just not why it's used in this setup.

Also, would it be possible to throw a dimmer switch in there to adjust the speed of the motor, or is there a better way to go about that?

Thanks for any info guys. Sorry if what I'm asking doesn't make much sense.

__________________
wizardofza is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-31-2008, 02:47 PM   #2
mrkristofo
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
mrkristofo's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Behind the zion curtain
Posts: 941
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts

Default

The capacitor has two purposes. First, it provides the necessary "jolt" to start the motor. Second, a smaller capacitor inside the run capacitor is is used to stabilize the movement of the motor as the phase flips with the AC current. As far as speed regulation goes, I'd use a voltage regulator (variable resistor) over a dimmer switch. Most dimmer switched augment the frequency of the AC current vs dropping the voltage.

Someone with more physics/EE background feel free to correct me, but that's how I understand that it works.

__________________
Coming Soon:
Primary: Stone Vertical Epic 08.08.08
Secondary: Oaked Arrogant Bastard
Conditioning: Dead Guy Ale clone, Double-Dubbel
Drinking: Not for a while
mrkristofo is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-31-2008, 05:01 PM   #3
wizardofza
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
wizardofza's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 411
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

Ok, that makes sense. I guessI was just wondering because I've seen setups with mills connected to motors in the past that didn't have a capacitor connected - at least not visibly.

Thanks for the post, much appreciated.

__________________
wizardofza is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-31-2008, 05:08 PM   #4
CodeRage
Death by Magumba!
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
CodeRage's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Melbourne, Fl
Posts: 2,254
Liked 32 Times on 17 Posts
Likes Given: 5

Default

The cap helps limit the amount of current the motor draws under heavy load. ie startup.

I would recomend a light dimmer for speed control, they will not handle the current that motor requires . They also arent designed for variable load. Harbor freight has a router speed controller
http://www.harborfreight.com/cpi/cta...emnumber=43060
You are better off using that and it is around the same price.

__________________
Brutus 20e build | Electrical Primer for Brewers | Auber SYL-2362A2 PID Install & Config
So as I am walking out the door this morning I think to my self:
"self, going to work on Monday is like knowing you're going to get kicked in the nuts. You just don't know when or by who"
CodeRage is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-31-2008, 05:29 PM   #5
wizardofza
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
wizardofza's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 411
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Virtuous
The cap helps limit the amount of current the motor draws under heavy load. ie startup.

I would recomend a light dimmer for speed control, they will not handle the current that motor requires . They also arent designed for variable load. Harbor freight has a router speed controller
http://www.harborfreight.com/cpi/cta...emnumber=43060
You are better off using that and it is around the same price.
Awesome idea. I know exactly what you're talking about too. I'll check it out.

Thanks!
__________________
wizardofza is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Keep C02 tank connected - ?? Brocster Bottling/Kegging 1 04-18-2009 07:31 PM
Fixed my fermentation chamber by striking the relay/capacitor with a handle of olllllo Equipment/Sanitation 22 05-23-2008 04:55 PM
Leaving CO2 Connected scottfro Bottling/Kegging 8 02-29-2008 08:16 PM
Leave the C02 connected? ShortSnoutBrewing Bottling/Kegging 9 12-21-2007 06:36 PM
Leave keg connected? wizardofza Bottling/Kegging 5 07-06-2007 09:08 PM