Cam locks on a false bottom dip tube?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

1fastsedan

Reaction score
Hi guys, I know I'm new here. I've been brewing for almost 15 years on several different set-ups. I finally have the space, time, and money to put together a 3 vessel stainless set-up. I was wondering if anyone has used the cam lock QD's on the inside of a mash tun to attach the dip tube? I'm sure the material is OK, I'm just not positive there will be enough room to maneuver everything once the false bottom and tube are dropped in. I'm really not a fan of compression fittings.
Thanks for the help!

My vote would go for the union. I'm using a brass union on mine. Works very well for me.

Are you a QUAFF member? I see you are in San Diego. I used to live up in Leucadia. The QUAFF guys are great. If you haven't yet joined up with them I highly recommend doing so.

Hi guys, I know I'm new here. I've been brewing for almost 15 years on several different set-ups. I finally have the space, time, and money to put together a 3 vessel stainless set-up. I was wondering if anyone has used the cam lock QD's on the inside of a mash tun to attach the dip tube? I'm sure the material is OK, I'm just not positive there will be enough room to maneuver everything once the false bottom and tube are dropped in. I'm really not a fan of compression fittings.
Thanks for the help!

Welcome to HBT chaos! Yeah, everyone was new here at one time or another, so don't sweat it. I use camlocks. but not inside the MLT. Seems a short piece of silicone tube with stainless screwclamps works pretty good for that job. Easy to remove to clean, and no leaks....