Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > Cam locks on a false bottom dip tube?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-23-2010, 01:36 PM   #1
1fastsedan
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 1 Posts

Default Cam locks on a false bottom dip tube?

Hi guys, I know I'm new here. I've been brewing for almost 15 years on several different set-ups. I finally have the space, time, and money to put together a 3 vessel stainless set-up. I was wondering if anyone has used the cam lock QD's on the inside of a mash tun to attach the dip tube? I'm sure the material is OK, I'm just not positive there will be enough room to maneuver everything once the false bottom and tube are dropped in. I'm really not a fan of compression fittings.
Thanks for the help!

Last edited by 1fastsedan; 12-23-2010 at 02:02 PM.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-23-2010, 10:12 PM   #2
Hammy71
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 388 Times on 303 Posts
Likes Given: 584

I'm building a new MLT out of a keg. I just bought a 1/2" union from bargain fittings. Hopefully that should work. Thought about going the camlock route but was worried about space...let alone cost.

http://www.bargainfittings.com/index...&product_id=54

Old 12-23-2010, 10:49 PM   #3
Catt22
Recipes 

Liked 57 Times on 55 Posts
Likes Given: 51

My vote would go for the union. I'm using a brass union on mine. Works very well for me.

Are you a QUAFF member? I see you are in San Diego. I used to live up in Leucadia. The QUAFF guys are great. If you haven't yet joined up with them I highly recommend doing so.

Old 12-23-2010, 11:06 PM   #4
sudbuster
This ain't my first rodeo....
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 267 Times on 210 Posts
Likes Given: 95

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1fastsedan View Post