New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermenter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > Burner recommendation for a newb

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-05-2012, 11:36 PM   #1
Phisher
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Burner recommendation for a newb

Good evening, gents-

I've been brewing extract for several months and am making the jump to all-grain. I have everything ordered/arrived with the exception of a propane burner. I;m faced with the decision of the super high btu (200k +) burners that do the boiling quick, but that people say really go through the propane quickly. On the other hand, theres the 60k BTU, 10 psi style burners that dont eat the propane but a lot of folks complain that they take an hour to get 8 gallons to a boil.

I suppose I'd prefer to go with the more-time, less-propane method, but...

Does anyone have a recommendation? I mean, I'd like to get away with a $50 Bayou SP-10 or SQ-14 or something, but if its just gonna cause headaches, then I should get something more powerful. But if one of those banjo's will be overkill for 7.5 gallons of wort AND waste a bunch of gas, then I'd rather save the money.

Any recommendations? Thanks in advance. I've been reading the forums for LONG time now.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-05-2012, 11:43 PM   #2
Phisher
Recipes 

morebeer has a $75 burner today that looks pretty nice if they're telling the truth... anybody tried it?

Quote:
Camp Chef several years ago changed the regulator to 10PSI max causing them to de-rate this burner to 60K BTUs from 125,000 btus. We tested one of the 60K burner and regulator combinations and were able to boil 10 gallons of water from 66F in 35 minutes.

Old 12-05-2012, 11:59 PM   #3
jgaepi
Recipes 

Liked 7 Times on 4 Posts