Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > Brutus Ten ????

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-11-2008, 09:26 PM   #51
billtzk
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 22 Times on 20 Posts
Likes Given: 6

I made the gas manifold. I'm using mild steel, not SS.

$480 is a good price, assuming you are talking 40 feet of 2 x 2 inch by .120 wall square tubing. The best price I could find was $685.

How much heat can powder-coat paint take? The top will get very hot. I plan to use a high temperature paint unless I can find a better solution.

I am not an engineer so I couldn't tell you what type and size aluminum tubing would work from a structural perspective.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-11-2008, 10:56 PM   #52
slnies

Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Al is fairly strong, stronger than steel if compared in strength to weight. So you would be in good shape if you used the same dimension stock in Al. It would be lighter and the weight from the tanks would be well with in the limits of the stand.

Primary: American Wheat
Secondary: Phils Pils Clone

Old 01-12-2008, 01:15 AM   #53
korndog

Recipes 

Liked 7 Times on 5 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by billtzk
I made the gas manifold. I'm using mild steel, not SS.

$480 is a good price, assuming you are talking 40 feet of 2 x 2 inch by .120 wall square tubing. The best price I could find was $685.

How much heat can powder-coat paint take? The top will get very hot. I plan to use a high temperature paint unless I can find a better solution.

I am not an engineer so I couldn't tell you what type and size aluminum tubing would work from a structural perspective.
Thanks. Not sure on the paint temperature question yet. Will check. Speaking of the manifold, is there any reason not to tap the holes and use nipples, instead of welding the fittings in place?

Thanks to Slnies too for aluminum post.