Home Brew Forums

Home Brew Forums (http://www.homebrewtalk.com/forum.php)
-   Equipment/Sanitation (http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f11/)
-   -   Brew-in-a-Bag Brew Kettle Opinions? (http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f11/brew-bag-brew-kettle-opinions-246790/)

TopherM 05-20-2011 07:15 PM

Brew-in-a-Bag Brew Kettle Opinions?
 
I'm just finishing up my 8th batch of extract kits, and would like to move to all grain with the brew-in-a-bag method. Anyway, I currently have a 16 quart pot and need to move up. Thought I'd go ahead with a 15 gallon pot in case I want to do 10 gallon batches down the road. Any pros/cons to the pot below from AHS? Anyone own one? Any better suggestions around the $300.00 range?

http://www.austinhomebrew.com/produc...ducts_id=12894

Kaz 05-20-2011 07:45 PM

I'm sure its a nice pot, 15 gallon would be a great size or 5 gal. batches. I use a 10 gallon kettle and it gets pretty full at about 15lb of grain. I'm not sure I could ever bring myself to spend almost $300.00 on a pot. I'm using a 10 gallon kettle that I picked up at an outlet for about $70 and added a ball valve to for about $30.00.

saffellm 05-20-2011 07:48 PM

This is what I am getting once I sell off my keggles:

Bayou Classic 62 Quart pot w/ steamer basket
http://www.amazon.com/Bayou-Classic-...5049013&sr=1-2

For big grain bills the steamer basket will provide more support for hauling out the grain bag, IMHO

cyberbackpacker 05-20-2011 10:23 PM

www.brewhemoth.com

Their penrose kettles are $180 shipped to your door; best bang for the buck in my opinion.

:mug:

lylo 05-21-2011 01:54 AM

Also check out this forum dedicated to BIAB.http://www.biabrewer.info/

wilserbrewer 05-21-2011 01:58 AM

I like this inexpensive 10 gal aluminum...at 41 bucks to your door it's a price performer for sure:mug:

Never done BIAB, but I would think a handheld thermometer would be handy to check the mash at various places rather than a hard mount thermo...YMMV

http://cgi.ebay.com/Thunder-Group-AL...item3a623ddbef

hillhousesawdustco 05-21-2011 02:12 AM

Can't get much cheaper nor more effective than a keggle

ScubaSteve 05-22-2011 01:20 PM

Go as big as you can....I recommend a 20 gallon pot if possible. If I were in the market, I'd get an SPS-80 or SPS-100 :FROM INSTAWARES. They're the exact same pot as the megapot. Then, just put some weldless fittings in right where you want them.

jbrookeiv 05-22-2011 01:34 PM

Home Depot sells Brinkmann 60qt aluminum pots, that's what I use. I found it on sale for $40 at my HD, then added a weldless ball valve kit from Bargain Fittings.

http://www.homedepot.com/webapp/wcs/...ocStoreNum=277

bschoenb 05-22-2011 01:48 PM

I have a 10 gallon Pot; I like to end up w/about 7 gallons to start the boil. It can get pretty full and to full with the grains; but that's not generally an issue.... I just hold back two gallons and add it after I remove the Bag. You could use that water then as a rinse/sparge water... or not.


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:29 AM.

Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.