Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > Breaker sizing for keezer?

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-12-2009, 06:54 PM   #1
masonsjax
Professional Amateur
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
masonsjax's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Frederick, MD
Posts: 2,128
Liked 285 Times on 208 Posts
Likes Given: 282

Default Breaker sizing for keezer?

I plan to run a dedicated circuit/outlet from my breaker box to power my small keezer (~5cu ft). I currently (pun) have it sitting in the middle of the room, because the compressor didn't seem to like the 16ga extension cord I was using. I'll be running 12ga wire for the new outlet, but I'm not sure what size breaker I need. Any electricians out there that can help? Thanks.

__________________

I aim to misbehave.

masonsjax is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-12-2009, 07:09 PM   #2
lazybean
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: San Diego
Posts: 185
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

With #12 wire you can install a 20 amp CB and 20 amp receptacle. Just looked at the GE 5.0cft specs and you can use a 15amp CB and 15receptacle with the #12 wire, if that is easier cheaper for you.

__________________
lazybean is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-12-2009, 07:12 PM   #3
nickpgoodman
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Bedford, TX
Posts: 61
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

A keezer really doesn't require all that much power for a dedicated circuit.

I have a 14.8 cu ft freezer, and with the compressor running it uses about 200 watts.

__________________
nickpgoodman is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-12-2009, 07:26 PM   #4
IrregularPulse
Hobby Collector
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
IrregularPulse's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 42,239
Liked 2754 Times on 2705 Posts
Likes Given: 113

Default

Your freezer will tell you it's Current draw. That will tell you but yeah, mine is just on an outlet downstairs with one circuit running it, a mini fridge, and lighting.

__________________
Tap Room Hobo

I should have stuck to four fingers in Vegas. :o - marubozo
IrregularPulse is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-12-2009, 07:33 PM   #5
chuggs
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Jupiter, FL
Posts: 323
Liked 9 Times on 8 Posts

Default

The keezer has nothing to do with the breaker size...it's the wire that he's running between the main panel and the sub panel that's important.

If you run the 12-2 w ground...use a 20 amp breaker

If you run 14-2 w ground...use a 15 amp breaker

Most homes use 12-2 now. My old junker has a bunch of 15 amp circuits in it... I think they invented 15 amp circuits way back before computers and entertainment centers. Heck...I wonder if they even used electric vacuum cleaners... uggg.

__________________
chuggs is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-12-2009, 08:11 PM   #6
schristian619
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 574
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

I owuld run the 12-2 w/ ground with a 20 amp breaker. I agree that there is no need for a dedicated circuit for the keezer, but it may be easier to install that way. Although, you may want to install a couple more outlets on the same circuit for future use, since your already tapping into the panel.

__________________
schristian619 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-12-2009, 08:36 PM   #7
lazybean
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: San Diego
Posts: 185
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

As long as you have more then one recptacle on the circuit you can install 15 amp receptacles on a 12awg 20 amp circuit.

__________________
lazybean is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-12-2009, 10:28 PM   #8
masonsjax
Professional Amateur
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
masonsjax's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Frederick, MD
Posts: 2,128
Liked 285 Times on 208 Posts
Likes Given: 282

Default

Thanks for all the replies. I'll go with 20A all around.

__________________

I aim to misbehave.

masonsjax is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
50A GFCI after a 30A breaker? passedpawn DIY Projects 20 11-09-2009 08:47 PM
Multiple Fridges / 1 breaker....? IrregularPulse Equipment/Sanitation 23 06-08-2009 12:41 PM
Reconditioned circuit breaker egurney DIY Projects 9 01-27-2009 08:48 PM
Largest 110V Breaker? Cpt_Kirks Equipment/Sanitation 16 01-10-2009 04:31 PM