Home Brew Forums

Home Brew Forums (http://www.homebrewtalk.com/forum.php)
-   Equipment/Sanitation (http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f11/)
-   -   Blichmann Boilermaker Reviews (http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f11/blichmann-boilermaker-reviews-60002/)

MNBugeater 03-24-2008 01:49 PM

Blichmann Boilermaker Reviews
 
I have been searching the boards for someone that actually has the new Blichmann Boilermaker kettles/tuns to review and discuss their features, qualities, likes, dislikes, but have not been able to find actual discussion of the product other than drooling of their design or complaining over their price...Both of which seem justified. ;)

http://www.homebrewtalk.com/showthre...ight=blichmann

I hope this thread turns into a review of the Blichmann Boilermaker kettles. I have them on order; a 20 Gallon Brew Kettle with Screen, and a 15 Gallon Mash Tun with False Bottom. Forum member 'korndog' also has 1 or more on order. If anyone else has them on order, or better yet, actually has one in hand already; Could you provide a review on the kettles and performance of the boil screen and/or false bottom, or other features you either like or dislike?

I will follow up as soon as I get them.

MNBugeater

Reverend JC 03-24-2008 07:30 PM

:off: Baudette!! nice. roll through there every year on the way to Canada. Love eating at Rosies, the ribs are great!

MNBugeater 03-25-2008 04:11 AM

Give me a heads up next time you come through....homebrew on tap. I am good friends with the owners of Rosalies. Ribs arent the best thing on the menu BTW...

67coupe390 03-25-2008 04:55 AM

I noticed in the williams cat. that the bottoms of them are single ply and look thin. http://www.williamsbrewing.com/BOILE..._P2061C251.cfm The 50 gal pot I have is at least a 1/4" thick and tri-ply. And the other thing that I don't care for is the sight glass. It seems like another thing to clean but thats just me. It would be cool to just get what you want for add-ons
When I was looking for a big A@# pot it took me a while to find them so its nice to see them easier to get. I think I may buy one sometime so I'll be watching this thread.
:mug:

korndog 05-10-2008 04:52 PM

I have the 15 gallon kettles. They are very nice but I have had trouble with the boil screen clogging. I never had any issues with my Bazooka screen and never used a hop bag. I have had two stuck brews now and will have to use bags in the future. I whirlpooled on knockout as suggested in the instructions, but to no avail. I think the product is simply not designed well for large hop additions directly to the kettle. I am a big fan of Blichmann products.

MNBugeater 05-10-2008 05:08 PM

Good info and good to know, korndog.

I am planning my first brew both with the Blichmans and my new brew stand tomorrow. I was hoping for last weekend, but had to postpone until tomorrow.

I'll follow up here with my experiences tomorrow night.

I have the 15 G MT and a 20G Boil kettle. They have the false bottom and boil screen respectively. I am using march pumps to transfer liquid and came up with these dead space amounts.

Mash Tun - I pumped until the hoses were mostly air and I had about 350 mL (~1.5) Cups of liquid remaining.
Boil Kettle - Also pumped until hose was mostly air and remaining liquid was about 1200 mL (< 5 Cups)

I thought this dead space was pretty respectable.

Tonedef131 05-10-2008 05:10 PM

I was in the market for a new pot recently, right around the time they came out, and as soon as I saw they had a single ply bottom I didn't even consider them. I ended up going with a 15 gallon Megapot with spigot and thermometer and I could not be any happier, the thing is so beautiful that I get all misty eyed when I look at it. I have some other Blichmann products that I absolutly love, but they really dropped the ball on these pots. They put on a bunch of stuff you don't need and left out the single most important feature on a boil kettle.

auto 05-10-2008 05:12 PM

I am waiting on a 15 Gallon Boilermaker, what is the ETA from time ordered? I am even holding off any more brews until it arrives. Well going to try the Apfelwein today.

MrFebtober 05-13-2008 02:26 PM

I was under the impression that having a multi-ply/super thick bottom wasn't really necessary. In theory, it seems beneficial, but in practice I've never heard of anyone having scorching issues using keggles, which would certainly qualify as single-ply (though I don't know how thick that SS is compared with other kettles).

That said, those Blichman kettles do seem quite pricey and come with features not everyone would want (i.e. I have no need for a temp probe on my kettle).

EdWort 05-13-2008 02:46 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by korndog (Post 672911)
I have the 15 gallon kettles. They are very nice but I have had trouble with the boil screen clogging. I never had any issues with my Bazooka screen and never used a hop bag. I have had two stuck brews now and will have to use bags in the future. I whirlpooled on knockout as suggested in the instructions, but to no avail. I think the product is simply not designed well for large hop additions directly to the kettle. I am a big fan of Blichmann products.

Have you emailed John Blichmann about the clogging? I'd like to know his take on it.


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:53 AM.

Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.