Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway - Enter Now!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > anyone using a pressure cooker "autoclave"?

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-15-2010, 10:01 AM   #1
killian
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: western/central new york
Posts: 1,485
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default anyone using a pressure cooker "autoclave"?

If so can you walk me through the process.
How do I know what can be autoclaved?
Have you ever used it with a propane burner?

__________________

damn I gotta brew something

killian is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-15-2010, 12:10 PM   #2
Pat_13
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Up in the hills of WV
Posts: 59
Default

Depends on your type, I fill mine to above the water line, put the contents in and seal it up, put 15 lbs of weight on it and start to heat it up until it starts the weight rocking, lower heat and wait 10 minutes, remove from heat, and wait till presure valve releases to open.

I'm not sure but glass, metal, and some plastic. If you’re not sure ask I'm sure someone has tried it before.

No, mine has a warning not to use with propane burner.

__________________
Pat_13 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-16-2010, 08:27 AM   #3
killian
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: western/central new york
Posts: 1,485
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

So if I shouldn't use propane could I use a 120v hotplate?

__________________

damn I gotta brew something

killian is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-16-2010, 01:17 PM   #4
Pat_13
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Up in the hills of WV
Posts: 59
Default

Yea, a hotplate should work, just so you can turn down the heat once you reach pressure so it doesn't build up faster than it can release it.

__________________
Pat_13 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-16-2010, 03:49 PM   #5
Poobah58
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
 
Poobah58's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New Milford, CT
Posts: 2,205
Liked 54 Times on 47 Posts
Likes Given: 24

Default

I use propane ALL the time. Heat is heat. Why does it matter if it's fire or electric?

__________________
Mead Lane Brewing
The liver is evil and must be punished
Poobah58 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-16-2010, 10:40 PM   #6
krops13
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 279
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 7

Default

IDK why it matters but its DOES My pressure canner says and I quote "DO NOT USE A OUTDOOR PROPANE BURNER. It says it just like that. I think there serious.

When I use mine I do 11-15 pounds for 30 minutes and it works great. I leave my agar out for a week to see if anything grows and it hasn't yet. I use mason jars with aluminum covers to hold what ever I need cleaned. Tubes, Tools, Agar, ETC...

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by passedpawn View Post
Rdwhahb&dbad!
Translation: Relax don't worry have a home brew and don't be a ****!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jdecarol View Post
Oh the things I would do to that pint.
California Common Pint

Last edited by krops13; 05-16-2010 at 10:43 PM.
krops13 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-16-2010, 11:27 PM   #7
JNye
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lansing, IL
Posts: 615
Liked 11 Times on 10 Posts

Default

i use an all american. i use it on propane all the time. sometimes i use it just to heat water. the only thing i sterilize are mason jars/tops for yeast washing.

__________________
JNye is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-17-2010, 03:00 PM   #8
jfkriege
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Bloomington, IN
Posts: 419
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

I use mine on my gas stove. It takes a little longer but works well. I have used it for sterilization and for canning wort for starters.

__________________
jfkriege is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-18-2010, 03:47 PM   #9
pjj2ba
Look under the recliner
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
pjj2ba's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: State College, Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,427
Liked 193 Times on 159 Posts
Likes Given: 22

Default

I use a real autoclave. The only thing that I have found to not be autoclavable are plastic racking tubes (I tested a piece of a broken one). I keep meaning to test a White labs yeast vial - I think that will fail. A few things get soft and can become deformed like carboy caps, and many tubings. This is fine as long as they are cooled carefully (no kinks or weight on them). Kegs autoclave just fine!

__________________
On Tap: Ger. Pils, OKZ (std Amer. lager), CZ Pils, Maibock,
Kegged and Aging/Lagering:CAP, CAP II, Wheat lager, Imperial Pilsner, Ger. Pils, OKZ (std Amer. lager), OKZ II (for base malt comparison), light beer - yes, light beer, Belgian IPA, IPA,
Secondary:
Primary: Pale Ale
Brewing soon: Saison
Recently kicked : ( IPA, Bock, Saison,
Pilsner Urquell Master Homebrewer
(1st NYC 2011, 2nd NYC 2012)
P U crowns winners in its inaugural master HB competition
pjj2ba is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-18-2010, 04:12 PM   #10
conpewter
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
conpewter's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: East Dundee, Illinois
Posts: 5,109
Liked 40 Times on 35 Posts
Likes Given: 7

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pjj2ba View Post
I use a real autoclave. The only thing that I have found to not be autoclavable are plastic racking tubes (I tested a piece of a broken one). I keep meaning to test a White labs yeast vial - I think that will fail. A few things get soft and can become deformed like carboy caps, and many tubings. This is fine as long as they are cooled carefully (no kinks or weight on them). Kegs autoclave just fine!
That sounds like a freaking huge autoclave! Ever autoclave a carboy?
__________________

"People should not be afraid of their governments. Governments should be afraid of their people." - V

Primary: Nothin
Secondary: Shady Lord RIS, Water to Barleywine, Pumpkin wine, burnt mead
Kegged: Crappy infected mild
Bottles: Apfelwein, 999 Barleywine, Oatmeal Stout, Robust Porter, Robust smoked porter, Simcoe Smash

conpewter is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Modify a "Pressure Tank"? ScubaSteve Equipment/Sanitation 0 02-20-2010 03:11 PM
pressure cooker/autoclave... illinibrew04 Equipment/Sanitation 2 01-16-2010 02:17 PM
How long does a corny have to hold pressure to be "good"? jaobrien6 Bottling/Kegging 10 10-23-2009 07:43 PM
Is this an alternative to the pressure cooker for autoclave? schupaul Equipment/Sanitation 14 03-07-2009 04:15 PM
Pressure Relief Valve "Gasket?" Teddi Brewski Bottling/Kegging 5 02-23-2008 05:27 PM