New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermenter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > Aluminum vs. Stainless

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-26-2005, 02:44 PM   #1
baudler
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Aluminum vs. Stainless

I was reading on someone’s site that they just bought the turkey fryer setup from Wal-Mart. I was confused because I thought aluminum was bad to use for home brewing – something about pores in the metal that bacteria can hide in or something. When I started brewing I spent the money for a good 3 gallon stainless pot. The turkey fryer setup is $50 for everything except the propane tank. I sure would like to switch to this since I could do a 5 gallon wort instead of a 2 gallon, plus I could brew out in the garage instead of the kitchen. Any truth to this aluminum-is-bad myth I heard?

Thanks guys!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-26-2005, 02:52 PM   #2
Janx

Recipes 

Liked 12 Times on 8 Posts

There are other threads here about the aluminium thing. The pore/sanitation thing makes no difference because you're cooking the wort.

The aluminium story I have always heard is that it may cause alzheimers if you cook with it. The links are unproven as far as I know, and aluminium is certainly used extensively in all sorts of cooking.

I use stainless (converted keg) because that's the easiest and cheapest solution for me. But I have used aluminium in the past, and never worried about it too much. Time will tell I suppose.

Cheers

Won't you pour me one more of that sinful Old Janx Spirit

Old 07-28-2005, 01:43 AM   #3
Rhoobarb

Recipes 

Liked 16 Times on 11 Posts
Likes Given: 2