Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > Is aluminum really bad?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-20-2007, 07:37 PM   #1
grrtt78
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Is aluminum really bad?

I have a 4 gallon ceramic covered pot that i use on an electric stove. I got a chip in the ceramic which i tihnk is a problem. I am not sure i can still use it so i have been looking on ebay for pots and maybe even a propane burner. I am a poor college student and i have found some 7.5 gallon pots with propane burners for around $40 dollars after shipping that i really like. However they are all aluminum. I really can not afford to buy a new stainless steel pot so i guess my choices are 4 gallon ceramic with a chip on an elctric stove or a 7.5 gallon aluminum on a burner. Which should i do? is almuminum that bad?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-20-2007, 07:40 PM   #2
Torchiest

Recipes 

Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 5

This has been argued about for a long time. I did a quick search, and I think this thread has a pretty good summary of both sides. Hope that helps. FWIW, I will only use stainless steel. Once I move into a house, I'll be buying a larger pot. Right now I make due with a 20qt stainless steel.

#48 Black Helicopter Porter #49 Pikemen Porter
Up Next:
#50 Imperious IPA
#51 Razz Buried

Old 01-20-2007, 07:55 PM   #3
Orfy
For the love of beer!
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 69 Times on 52 Posts
Likes Given: 30

Regardless of the chemical/toxic arguments just think about the hygiene side. What do hospitals use exclusively?

That's enough for me.

Old 01-20-2007, 08:54 PM   #4
Genghis77

Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

You should be able to repair the chipped ceramic easily using ceramic sink repair available at nearly any hardware store. Ceramic though works as an insulator. You're lucky to get a boil on an electric stove.

Old 01-20-2007, 09:05 PM   #5
grrtt78