Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > Airborne wild yeast

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-28-2011, 11:20 PM   #1
conpewter
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 41 Times on 36 Posts
Likes Given: 7

Default Airborne wild yeast

Hey all, I've been brewing for a few years now and the batches over the past year have all ended up with some sort of wild yeast issue. One of the problems is that it doesn't really show up until a couple months after brewing.. yay.

I just put my oatmeal stout in a keg and I tasted some of the beer out of the fermenter (put some in a glass during siphon) and I can once again detect a bit of the infection, we'll see if it shows up stronger later.

My last thought since I've eliminated so many variables is that I have a sort of house yeast that is present in the air/dust in the house. Now that I've had so many infected batches I would think it is possible. Has anyone else ran in to this?

"People should not be afraid of their governments. Governments should be afraid of their people." - V

Primary: Nothin
Secondary: Shady Lord RIS, Water to Barleywine, Pumpkin wine, burnt mead
Kegged: Crappy infected mild
Bottles: Apfelwein, 999 Barleywine, Oatmeal Stout, Robust Porter, Robust smoked porter, Simcoe Smash

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-01-2011, 01:29 AM   #2
theredben
Recipes 

Liked 23 Times on 22 Posts
Likes Given: 9

Why do you suspect wild yeast? Plating?

Old 03-01-2011, 12:25 PM   #3
conpewter
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

I suspect a wild yeast issue due to an off flavor I get start getting after a month or so of the beer being finished. Also when I've done bottling every bottle becomes overcarbonated. It doesn't turn sour or tart, just off, some people have described it as apple.

"People should not be afraid of their governments. Governments should be afraid of their people." - V