Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > Academy turkey fryer
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-18-2012, 10:09 PM   #1
boomer135
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Mildenhall
Posts: 51
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default Academy turkey fryer

Anyone use this as a brew kettle?

http://www.academy.com/webapp/wcs/st...f+cook&Ntk=All.

If so, is it too tall?? Walls too thin?? Does it heat evenly? Anything I'm missing?

__________________
boomer135 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-18-2012, 10:55 PM   #2
PantherCity
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Fort Worth, Tx
Posts: 282
Liked 10 Times on 9 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

My buddy has the same one for turkeys and crayfish. I inspected it when he bought it and it would work well as a brewing vessel. I would not hesitate to get it at that price.

__________________
PantherCity is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-19-2012, 02:01 AM   #3
Fizzycist
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Idaho Falls, Idaho
Posts: 435
Liked 39 Times on 28 Posts
Likes Given: 41

Default

Is that thing magnetic? Would it work with an induction burner?

__________________
Fizzycist is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-19-2012, 02:09 AM   #4
Ramitt
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Ramitt's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Bloomington, Indiana
Posts: 1,044
Liked 56 Times on 53 Posts
Likes Given: 157

Default

I am sure it will work, but as the owner of a 36 qt turkey fryer let me warn you that you will quickly wish it was larger. I would recommend at least 40qt.

__________________
Ramitt is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-19-2012, 04:33 AM   #5
Crito
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: H-Town, TX
Posts: 519
Liked 27 Times on 23 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

I just bought a 13 gallon kettle from spikes.. he has a special on it.

__________________
Crito is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-19-2012, 01:26 PM   #6
boomer135
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Mildenhall
Posts: 51
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

So is the consensus that 30 qt kettles are not quite big enough for a full 5-5.5g boil?

__________________
boomer135 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-19-2012, 03:09 PM   #7
Rivenin
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 2,617
Liked 177 Times on 143 Posts
Likes Given: 103

Default

you boil about 6.5 gallons first to end up at 5.5gal...
30 qts = 7.5 gallons = just a small amount of headroom.

with that being said, i do have the same size pot and it gets used as my main kettle, works fine, but the beginning part of the boil is a little worrysome at times.

__________________
RAINYDAY BREWING AND WINERY Southeast Portland, OR - EST 2010
Primary Straight lambic - Hopbursted Pale - Bitter
Kegged NZ/USA IPA - Mosaic Honey Wheat - - Nelson Sauvin honey Blonde
Coming up Porter
Electric 120v Brutus 20
Rivenin is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-19-2012, 04:03 PM   #8
Ramitt
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Ramitt's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Bloomington, Indiana
Posts: 1,044
Liked 56 Times on 53 Posts
Likes Given: 157

Default

I find i boil off closer to 1.5 gallons.

30 will work, but gives very little leeway.

__________________
Ramitt is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-19-2012, 04:14 PM   #9
boomer135
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Mildenhall
Posts: 51
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

Ok, thanks all. I just figured I'd see what everyone else thinks about it. They're pretty cheap but I think I'll hold out for maybe an 8 or 10 gallon kettle.

__________________
boomer135 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-19-2012, 04:24 PM   #10
stumpie
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 40
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

I do partials in that same kettle and it works fine. I've only ever got wort up to the 3/4 full line, and have only had one boil-over after adding my LME and then taking my eyes off the kettle for a few seconds. 'Twas my bad.

My lab thermometer sits nicely in the hole on the lid while the kettle is taking an ice bath, which makes for easy reading of the wort temp.

__________________

Last edited by stumpie; 02-19-2012 at 04:27 PM.
stumpie is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools