HBT 2014 Big Giveaway - 4/10 Re-Draw Winners Posted!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > 3 Gallon Carboy Dimensions?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-17-2009, 08:22 AM   #1
johnnydrama
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default 3 Gallon Carboy Dimensions?

Hello all,

I've done a handful of extract brews, and I've decided to start doing smaller 2.5 gallon batches for a number of reasons, including wanting to do a full boil on an electric stove, and being able to brew more often.

My question is, does anyone know the dimensions of a 3 gallon carboy? I'd like to be able to put it inside of the big cooler I have for fermenting without having to modify it. Being a student, I need a cheap quick and low tech way to control fermentation temps, and using a cooler my parents already own seemed like a good idea. Thanks in advance.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-17-2009, 01:27 PM   #2
FullDraw

Recipes 

Liked 18 Times on 9 Posts
Likes Given: 7

I've got two here. I measured the box, so there is a tiny bit of wiggle room.

9.5" square (Diameter ever so slightly less) , 17 inches high. Plus 6 inches for the airlock.

Old 05-17-2009, 01:33 PM   #3
Revvy
Post Hoc Ergo Propter Hoc

Recipes 

Liked 2657 Times on 1602 Posts
Likes Given: 3444

Are you talking about the 3 gallon glass carboys, plastic water bottles or 3 gallon better bottles?

The better bottles are square.. I have seen and used two different sized 3 gallon water jugs for small batch fermentations, one brand is short and squat, and looks like a traditional 5 gallon better bottle/water bottle only squat, and the other is tall and narrow.....

I am at work, so I can't measure them...sorry.

Like my snazzy new avatar? Get Sons of Zymurgy swag, here, and brew with the best.

Revvy's one of the cool reverends. He has a Harley and a t-shirt that says on the back "If you can read this, the bitch was Raptured. - Madman