Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > 15 gallon fermenters

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-31-2008, 03:12 AM   #1
ben the brewman
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 13 Times on 12 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default 15 gallon fermenters

i have been homebrewing for a few years now and was thinking of making a fermenter to sell and wanted to know if anybody would be intersted in something like this or not. it will be a 15 gallon food grade plastic fermenter, it will have a fully removeable lid for cleaning, a ball valve in the bottom of the tank, and a valve on the top that you can switch out a airlock and a pressure hose so you can transfer the beer under pressure to avoid picking up the entire thing. let me know what you guys think about this.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-31-2008, 03:45 AM   #2
SuperiorBrew
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 25 Times on 16 Posts

I made a couple like this,
Food Grade Barrel, holds 14-15 gallons
gromet for airlock
ball lock gas fitting
Better Bottle Racking arm and valve
I have about $60 in it but $17 of that is because I bought a spendy adapter to add the ball lock fittting. Would do it different next time and save the $17

The one in the pic is in the garage with 12 gallons of Peanut Butter Porter @ 60º

Old 03-31-2008, 02:48 PM   #3
Tonedef131
Recipes 

Liked 22 Times on 12 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Where did you get that barrel? I would like to get a 12 gallon or so barrel like that for 10 gallon batches. Also, do you just use the gas fitting for purging oxygen?

Old 03-31-2008, 03:27 PM   #4
sleepystevenson
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 11 Times on 7 Posts

I have the exact same barrel, SuperiorBrew. Works great for a primary! I just use mine the ol' fashioned way with an autosyphon. Helps that my brother and I brew together as that baby sure is heavy w/ 12 gals in it!

Old 03-31-2008, 03:51 PM   #5
RegionalChaos
Recipes